Friday, February 5, 2010

Classical yoga, based on the Yoga Sutra's of Sage Patanjali

Classical Yoga is based on Sage Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. This entire book consisting of 196 sutras can fit into one single page. Each sutra however is loaded with meaning. This scientific study of the human mind still holds true 2500 years after it was written.

 The book can be divided into 4 chapters:

 Samadhi pada: Defines what is yoga and gives practices for the student with am ekagra citta or one pointed mind.

 Sadhana pada: The eight limbs of yoga (Asht-ang ) were devised for the student with an occasionally scattered and occasionally concentrated mind. The popular practices of asana & pranayama fall into this category. It is very interesting to note that the aspects of yoga which are most popular today - asana and pranayama have only 8 sutras dedicated to them, that too in the later stages of the second chapter.

 Vibhuti pada: The various siddhis or powers one can attain with the practice of yoga. Here he warned that these powers can easily lead to corruption, misuse & ego and should be largely ignored.

 Kaivalya pada: On liberation and Samadhi.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Happy to read your thoughts on my thoughts! Do leave a note..:)